Skip to content

Do earrings make a difference in tip??

May 23, 2011

these are hooker hoops. lol!

One of my coworkers made a comment the other day out of the blue. “Hey, do those earrings get you better tips??” I was like “What? What are you talking about? I don’t know.” And, it got me to thinking…. do you think the earrings I wear could influence what people tip me?

I mean, the only reason I was wearing them in the first place, is because I feel like I look like a man wearing the uniform and hat with my hair in a bun. The earrings are the ONLY little bit of individuality I can have.

My coworker said something like, “It’s surprising what little things can affect your tips.” I retorted back, “Hey, I’ll wear big hooker hoops if that will help me get good tips!” I was joking at the time, but now I’m really wondering if wearing hoop earrings (medium sized ones, not huge hooker ones. lol) would help my tips.

The ones I was wearing when he made the comment were just really simple silver dangling earrings. So, I’m not sure if hoops would really make a difference, but it’s interesting all the same.

I think I will try it out and report back.

From → Delivery, Tips

6 Comments
  1. interesting! Appearances do matter of course. Please do keep us updated on how your experiment works out! :o)

  2. sexandtheindiancities permalink

    i liked what you said back to your friend.. 🙂
    apperance does make a difference in professional life , hooker hoops can add visual interest in one job and make you look unprofessional in another … if its appropriate go for it ..:)

  3. I will let you guys know once I compile more evidence. 😀

  4. QuickPipkin permalink

    I don’t wear makeup at home, but I get all dolled up for work. When I go all out and look extra nice, I say it does somewhat affect my tips. On nights I get all decked out (makeup, appropriate work approved earrings, and lip gloss, and hair done with my visor on) I’ve seen people go back to their wallets or purses for extra tips above what they already had allocated with their money. Or, on occasion – they say, “I’ll be right back,” and duck out of the room – returning with a few more dollars and a couple of buddies who want to thank me for the delivery too!

  5. thanks for your comments quickpipkin! It’s always nice to meet a fellow delivery girl! there aren’t too many of us! 🙂

    • QuickPipkin permalink

      You know, when I started at my delivery place I was shocked to find out that girls outnumber the guys. 🙂 There are 6 of us at my store, and we are the only ones that actually get close to full time or overtime. The guys mostly do it as a part time thing!

Leave a Reply

